Conductor Search

string of circles

The Richmond Symphony Orchestra (RSO) welcomes applications for the position of Music Director & Conductor, available beginning in the 2022-2023 season.

Interested applicants can find more information via our job listing with the League of American Orchestras. Please note that you will need an account to view the listing.

Advice and input on the conductor search is welcome, please send all comments to

The Richmond Symphony Orchestra: Who We Are

The Richmond Symphony Orchestra (RSO) is in its 65th season and under the leadership of its third music director. Maestro Guy Victor Bordo has announced his retirement at the end of the 2021-2022 season after 25 years as the RSO’s conductor. The RSO is a professional orchestra drawing musicians from the tri-state area as well as accomplished students from the University of Cincinnati-College Conservatory of Music and Indiana University Jacobs School of Music. The RSO annually issues 70 contracts to our musicians.

The RSO exists to shape the cultural life of our region by delivering exceptional, inclusive musical experiences that enrich, entertain and educate. The organization is an indispensable and integral part of the vibrancy of the Richmond community and an effective driver of the economy, injecting $775,000+ in economic impact annually. The Board of Directors remains committed to building an endowment that will create financial sustainability and ensure the longevity of the RSO, making the region an attractive place to live and work for future generations. At each turn, the RSO strives to support a full creative life for all and is committed to championing policies and practices of cultural equity that empower a just, inclusive, equitable community. 

string of circles

Search Committee

Jeff Jackson – Chair, Board Member
Amy Dudas – Board Member, Artistic Advisory Committee Chair
Kathy Girten – Immediate Past President of the Board
Ginger Gray – Lifetime Board Member
Monica Koechlein – Executive Director
Mari Lunde – Concertmaster
Lynn Mayer – Returning Board Member
Jessica Raposo – Board Member
Dave Rodgers – Lifetime Board Member
Amy Sekhar – Board Member
Darin Sorley – Principal Horn